CIETAC (2015)—the award
Produced in partnership with Kevin Hong of Norton Rose Fulbright

The following Arbitration practice note produced in partnership with Kevin Hong of Norton Rose Fulbright provides comprehensive and up to date legal information covering:

  • CIETAC (2015)—the award
  • What must the award contain?
  • Will the award deal with costs?
  • Who must sign the award?
  • When will the final award be made?
  • Will the award be scrutinised before being released to the parties?
  • What if the award contains errors?
  • Effect of the award

CIETAC (2015)—the award

CORONAVIRUS (COVID-19): Many arbitral organisations have responded to the coronavirus pandemic with practical guidance and/or changes to their usual procedures and ways of working. For information on how this content and relevant arbitration proceedings may be impacted, see Practice Note: Arbitral organisations and coronavirus (COVID-19)—practical impact. For additional information, see: Coronavirus (COVID-19) and arbitration—overview.

This Practice Note covers arbitration under the CIETAC Arbitration Rules 2015 (CIETAC Rules), which, generally, apply to arbitrations accepted by CIETAC on or after 1 January 2015 (CIETAC, art 84). For guidance on arbitration under the CIETAC Rules 2012, see: CIETAC arbitration—overview.

This Practice Note applies to international or foreign related disputes or disputes related to Hong Kong SAR or Macao SAR or the Taiwan region (CIETAC, art 3). CIETAC has separate provisions for summary arbitration (see: CIETAC (2015)—summary procedure) and domestic arbitration; these are not covered in this Practice Note. There are also separate provisions for arbitrations by the CIETAC Hong Kong Arbitration Centre (CIETAC, art 73) which are not covered by this Practice Note.

A tribunal may make different types of award, such as interim award, partial award, final award and additional award, during the course of the arbitration—see Practice Note: Arbitral awards—types and requirements for general guidance on this area.

Although the provisions in the CIETAC Rules 2015 on award mainly relate to the final award on the substantive

Popular documents