Singapore Convention on Mediation
Produced in partnership with Ben Giaretta of Mishcon de Reya
Singapore Convention on Mediation

The following Dispute Resolution guidance note Produced in partnership with Ben Giaretta of Mishcon de Reya provides comprehensive and up to date legal information covering:

  • Singapore Convention on Mediation
  • What is the Singapore Convention?
  • Application of the Singapore Convention
  • Obligations of States that have signed the Singapore Convention
  • Requirements for enforcement or reliance on settlement agreements
  • Grounds for refusing to grant relief
  • Adjournment of decision on relief
  • Reservations
  • Other points
  • Practical tips

What is the Singapore Convention?

The United Nations Convention on International Settlement Agreements Resulting from Mediation was signed in Singapore on 7 August 2019, and is known as the Singapore Convention.

On 7 August 2019, 46 countries signed the Singapore Convention, namely: Afghanistan, Belarus, Benin, Brunei, Chile, China, Colombia, Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Fiji, Georgia, Grenada, Haiti, Honduras, India, Iran, Israel, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Laos, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montenegro, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Palau, Paraguay, Philippines, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Timor-Leste, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, USA, Uruguay, Venezuela. Since that date further countries have signed the convention. For a full list of the countries, see: UNCITRAL status page for the Singapore Convention.

The Singapore Convention will come into force six months after the deposit at the United Nations of the third instrument of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession (Article 14).

The precise method of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession will depend on the constitutions of the signatory countries.

The primary goals of the Singapore Convention are to facilitate international trade and promote the use of mediation for the resolution of cross-border commercial disputes (UNCITRAL accession kit).

The intention is to have a uniform and efficient framework for the enforcement of international settlement agreements resulting from mediation and for allowing parties to invoke such agreements, akin