V1.289 Supreme/Senior Court

The Supreme Court of England and Wales consists of1


    (1)     the Court of Appeal;


    (2)     the High Court of Justice; and


    (3)     the Crown Court.

With effect from 1 October 2009, the Constitutional Reform Act 2005 provides for a new Supreme Court to assume the appellate jurisdiction of the House of Lords2. Consequently the former Supreme Courts are now referred to as the Senior Courts, and the Supreme Court Act 1981 has been renamed the Senior Courts Act 19813.

The constitution, jurisdiction and powers of the Senior Courts are set out in the Senior Courts Act 1981.

The Court of

To continue reading
View the latest version of this document, as well as thousands of others like it, sign in to TolleyLibrary or register for a free trial