35 Designated police stations
35 Designated police stations

(1)     The chief officer of police for each police area shall designate the police stations in his area which, subject to [sections 30(3) and (5), 30A(5) and 30D(2)], are to be the stations in that area to be used for the purpose of detaining arrested persons.

(2)     A chief officer's duty under subsection (1) above is to designate police stations appearing to him to provide enough accommodation for that purpose.

[(2A)     The Chief Constable of the British Transport Police Force may designate police stations which (in addition to those designated under subsection (1) above) may be used for the purpose of detaining arrested persons.]

(3)     Without prejudice to section 12 of the Interpretation Act 1978 (continuity of duties) a chief officer—

Popular documents