WIQS—core practice management standards
WIQS—core practice management standards

The following Wills & Probate guidance note provides comprehensive and up to date legal information covering:

  • WIQS—core practice management standards

In order to be able to qualify for the WIQS 'kitemark', practices will have to satisfy, firstly and crucially, a number of core standards by adopting a number of policies and plans. Each standard encompasses a number of what may be called mini standards and, in turn, each of these mini standards have to, in the main, include a minimum number of essentials.

It is anticipated that most firms will be able to satisfy these standards as they do not, or should not, generally, break new ground.

This checklist can be used to isolate the standards and what they are expected to contain. A practice will then be able to tick off the requirements and/or indicate where they may be found in the firm's own management standards records, such as in the firm's Handbook.

The standards Must include Location/Details
Risk management    
Risk management policy strategic risk  
  operational risk  
  regulatory risk