The single Family Court
The single Family Court

The following Family practice note provides comprehensive and up to date legal information covering:

  • The single Family Court
  • Key features
  • Allocation and transfer of proceedings
  • Transitional provisions

Following the publication of the Family Justice Review, in February 2012, the government accepted recommendations for a 'single Family Court'.

The single Family Court replaced the previous three tiers of court structure (family proceedings court, county court, High Court); however, the High Court retains exclusive jurisdiction over a limited number of cases. The single Family Court came into effect on 22 April 2014.

Various pilot schemes are in place in the Family Court, see Practice Note: Pilot schemes in the Family Court.

In January 2018, the then President of the Family Division, Sir James Munby, issued his 18th View from the President’s Chambers and announced the launch of the Financial Remedies Court pilots and the proposed structure and geography of the Financial Remedies Court which is a subsidiary structure within the Family Court, see News Analysis: President issues 18th View as to Financial Remedy Court pilots and standard orders. Subsequently a national lead judge and deputy lead judge have been appointed and guidance was issued in November 2019 as to the Financial Remedies Court zones and the appointment of a lead judge for each zone together with a Good Practice Protocol. Specific considerations apply as to an application in the Financial Remedies Court as to allocation, the accelerated first appointment procedure and best practice, see Practice Note: The Financial Remedies Court.

HM Courts and Tribunals Service (HMCTS) had

Popular documents