Rural Development 2014–2020
Rural Development 2014–2020

The following Property guidance note provides comprehensive and up to date legal information covering:

  • Rural Development 2014–2020
  • Introduction
  • England
  • Wales

Brexit: The UK left the EU on 31 January 2020. This has implications for the schemes providing for agricultural subsidies in England and Wales, which will no longer be derived from the EU Common Agricultural Policy. We will introduce content to address the new regimes once the relevant legislation (including the Agriculture Bill) has been enacted.


Pillar 2 of the Common Agricultural Policy (CAP) provides financial support for rural development, which is designed to secure three overarching objectives:

  1. fostering the competitiveness of agriculture

  2. ensuring the sustainable management of natural resources, and climate action

  3. achieving a balanced territorial development of rural economies and communities including the creation and maintenance of employment

Pillar 2 support is co-financed by the European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development (EAFRD) and the beneficiary region or member state.

Each EU member state or region must devise a Rural Development Programme (RDP) as the delivery mechanism for this support. The EU has established six broad rural development priorities for achieving the three overarching rural development objectives. These are:

  1. fostering knowledge transfer and innovation in agriculture, forestry and rural areas

  2. enhancing farm viability and agricultural competitiveness through the promotion of innovative farm technologies and sustainable management of forests

  3. promotin