Limitation—the principal limitation periods
Limitation—the principal limitation periods

The following Dispute Resolution practice note provides comprehensive and up to date legal information covering:

  • Limitation—the principal limitation periods
  • The principal limitation periods
  • Claims for equitable remedies
  • Declarations
  • Breaches of fiduciary duty claims
  • Restitution claims
  • Contribution claims
  • Insolvency claims
  • Data protection claims
  • Saving for other limitation enactments

The principal limitation periods

The following table includes the principal types of action and details the number of years within which such a claim can be brought under the Limitation Act 1980 (LA 1980), noting relevant statutory provisions and authorities as appropriate.

Note that the table is not exhaustive. It focuses on the actions that are most likely to be of interest to a dispute resolution practitioner and does not cover certain very specific claims, for example subsequent conversions of goods (LA 1980, s 3), although these are set out in the LA 1980.

For further information on the principal types of claims, see Practice Notes:

  1. Limitation—contract claims

  2. Limitation—tort claims

  3. Limitation—professional negligence claims

  4. Limitation—constructive trust claims

See also Practice Notes:

  1. Limitation Act 1980—general application, for guidance on how to determine a limitation period (ie when time runs from and when time stops running), and

  2. Limitation—extensions of time under the Limitation Act 1980, Limitation—latent damage and Limitation—fraud, deliberate concealment and mistake for potential ways in which the limitation period applicable to a claim might be postponed or extended under LA 1980

Type of claimLimitation periodReferenceAdditional information
Simple contractSix yearsLA 1980, s 5LA 1980, s 5 is broadly understood to apply by way of default, when no other specific provision (under the LA 1980 or as agreed between the parties) applies

Popular documents