ICC (2021)—the award

The following Arbitration practice note provides comprehensive and up to date legal information covering:

  • ICC (2021)—the award
  • Requirements of an award
  • Content of an ICC award
  • Scrutiny of the award by the ICC Court
  • Time frame for delivery of the award
  • Submission of draft awards
  • Notification of the final award
  • Delays in submitting awards
  • Majority decisions and dissenting opinions
  • Place of the award
  • More...

ICC (2021)—the award

CORONAVIRUS (COVID-19): Many arbitral organisations have responded to the coronavirus pandemic with practical guidance and/or changes to their usual procedures and ways of working. For information on how this content and relevant arbitration proceedings may be impacted, see Practice Note: Arbitral organisations and coronavirus (COVID-19)—practical impact. For additional information, see: Coronavirus (COVID-19) and arbitration—overview.

This Practice Note considers the requirements of an arbitral award under the 2021 International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) Rules of Arbitration (ICC Rules). The ICC Rules apply to any ICC arbitration commenced on or after 1 January 2021 (unless the parties expressly agree that an earlier version of the ICC Rules will apply, which is unlikely). For an introduction to the 2021 ICC Rules, see Practice Note: ICC (2021)—introduction to the ICC and arbitration under the ICC Rules.

For links to guidance on the 2017 and 2012 editions of the ICC Rules, see: ICC arbitration—overview.

Requirements of an award

Generally speaking, when an award is issued by an arbitral tribunal, the parties should check that the award complies with:

  1. the requirements of any arbitration rules under which the arbitration was conducted

  2. the laws of the country of the seat of arbitration (in England, the Arbitration Act 1996 (AA 1996)), and

  3. the laws of the country where the award is likely to be enforced

For general guidance about arbitral awards, see Practice Note: Arbitral awards—types

Popular documents