ICC (2012)—the award [Archived]

The following Arbitration practice note provides comprehensive and up to date legal information covering:

  • ICC (2012)—the award [Archived]
  • Requirements of an award
  • Content of an ICC award
  • Scrutiny of the award
  • Time frame for the award
  • Draft award
  • Final award
  • Delays in submitting awards
  • Majority decision
  • Place of the award
  • More...

ICC (2012)—the award [Archived]

ARCHIVED: This Practice Note has been archived and is not maintained.

This Practice Note deals with the requirements of an International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) award under the 2012 ICC Rules of Arbitration (2012 ICC Rules).

The 2012 ICC Rules apply to any ICC arbitration commenced on or after 1 January 2012, unless the parties have agreed to submit to the rules in force on the date of their arbitration agreement.

For guidance on the 2017 ICC Rules, see: ICC arbitration—overview.

Requirements of an award

When an award is issued, parties should check that any award complies with:

  1. the requirements of any institutional rules under which the arbitration was conducted

  2. the laws of the country of the seat of arbitration (in England, the Arbitration Act 1996 (AA 1996)), and

  3. the laws of the country where the award is likely to be enforced

There are several types of award. For general information about arbitral awards, see Practice Note: Arbitral awards—types and requirements.

Content of an ICC award

An ICC award must state the reasons upon which it is based (ICC, art 31(2)). 'Award' is defined as including an interim, partial or final award (ICC, art 2(v)).

When transmitting the file to arbitrators, the ICC includes a copy of the ICC Award checklist. The checklist provides a reminder of key information that must normally be contained in an ICC award. It includes

Popular documents