European legislative process
Produced in partnership with Pagonia Basia, EU specialist
European legislative process

The following Public Law guidance note Produced in partnership with Pagonia Basia, EU specialist provides comprehensive and up to date legal information covering:

  • European legislative process
  • EU law
  • Categories and areas of European Union competence
  • Main treaties
  • Direct effect/indirect effect/state liability
  • Legislative/non-legislative Acts (post Lisbon)
  • EU legislative procedures

STOP PRESS: On 23 June 2016, the UK held a referendum on its membership of the EU, with a majority voting in favour of the UK leaving the EU. The full impact of Brexit remains to be established but the UK will remain an EU Member State, fully subject to EU law, until the moment that it leaves. We are reviewing our content on the basis of information available and will keep it under regular review throughout the withdrawal period. In the meantime, for background reading, links to related guidance and policy documents, plus the latest analysis on the potential impact on our content, please refer to our Brexit overview, see: Brexit—overview.

EU law

The EU’s core objective of achieving European unification is based exclusively on the rule of law. EU law is an independent legal system which takes precedence over national legal provisions. A number of key players are involved in the process of implementing, monitoring and further developing this legal system for which a variety of procedures apply. In general, EU law is composed of three different but interdependent types of legislation, ie primary; secondary and tertiary. The combined law of the EU is also known as the ‘acquis communautaire’.

Categories and areas of European Union competence

Competence is a term used to denote the power of the Union