EEA nationals—restrictions [Archived]

The following Employment practice note provides comprehensive and up to date legal information covering:

  • EEA nationals—restrictions [Archived]
  • Croatians
  • Accession State Worker Registration Scheme 2004–2011
  • Bulgarians and Romanians

EEA nationals—restrictions [Archived]

Most EEA nationals have no restrictions on their freedom to take employment in the UK (see EEA nationals—rights [Archived]).

From 1 July 2013 to 30 June 2018, there were restrictions placed on nationals of Croatia (subject to certain exceptions).

From 1 May 2004 until 30 April 2011 there were also restrictions (again, subject to certain exceptions) on nationals of the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, the Slovak Republic and Slovenia under the Accession State Worker Registration Scheme.

From 1 January 2007 to 31 December 2013 nationals of Bulgaria and Romania were also subject to restrictions.


Croatia joined the European Union (and therefore the European Economic Area) with effect from 1 July 2013. As a result Croatian nationals gained the right to move and reside freely throughout the EEA, including the UK.

Their right to work in the UK was however subject to a worker authorisation scheme under The Accession of Croatia (Immigration and Worker Authorisation) Regulations 2013. The scheme lasted until 30 June 2018. Depending on the circumstances, the scheme could have been extended for a further two years but the government announced in March 2018 that it would not do so. Croatian nationals who were subject to the scheme were only authorised to work in the UK if they held an accession worker authorisation document and were working in accordance with the

Related documents:

Popular documents