Brexit timeline
Brexit timeline

The following Public Law practice note provides comprehensive and up to date legal information covering:

  • Brexit timeline
  • Brexit timeline—impact of Coronavirus (COVID-19)
  • Brexit timeline—2020 (UK-EU transition/implementation period priorities and future relationship negotiations)
  • Beyond Brexit—2020 (UK transition/implementation period priorities outside the EU)

IP COMPLETION DAY: 11pm (GMT) on 31 December 2020 marks the end of the Brexit transition/implementation period entered into following the UK’s withdrawal from the EU. At this point in time (referred to in UK law as ‘IP completion day’), key transitional arrangements come to an end and significant changes begin to take effect across the UK’s legal regime. This document contains guidance on subjects impacted by these changes. Before continuing your research, see Practice Note: What does IP completion day mean for public law?

On 23 June 2016, the UK held a referendum on its membership of the EU, with a majority voting in favour of the UK leaving the EU. On 29 March 2017, the UK Prime Minister gave formal notification of the UK's intention to withdraw from the EU, commencing the withdrawal process under Article 50 TEU, see: Brexit: UK Article 50 TEU notification starts the clock—what happens now?

On 31 January 2020, the UK’s formal withdrawal from the EU took effect and the UK ceased to be an EU Member State. Exit day marked the end of the withdrawal period under Article 50 TEU and the start of a time-limited transition/implementation period, during which the transitional arrangements provided in Part 4 of the Withdrawal Agreement applied.

The transitional arrangements provided a standstill period during which the UK and EU worked to implement

Related documents:

Popular documents