Appeals—United Kingdom—Q&A guide

The following Dispute Resolution practice note provides comprehensive and up to date legal information covering:

  • Appeals—United Kingdom—Q&A guide
  • 1. Outline and explain the general structure of your country’s court system as it relates to the commercial appellate process.
  • 2. Are there appellate courts that hear only civil matters?
  • 3. Are appeals from administrative tribunals handled in the same way as appeals from trial courts?
  • 4. Is there a separate appellate bar or other requirement for attorneys to be admitted before appellate courts?
  • 5. If separate jurisdictions exist for particular territorial subdivisions or subject matters, explain their main differences as to commercial appeals.
  • 6. What are the deadlines for filing an appeal in a commercial matter?
  • 7. What are the key steps a litigant must take to commence an appeal?
  • 8. How is the documentation for appeals prepared?
  • 9. In commercial matters, may litigants appeal by right or is appellate review discretionary?
  • More...

Appeals—United Kingdom—Q&A guide

This Practice Note contains a jurisdiction-specific Q&A guide to appeals in United Kingdom published as part of the Lexology Getting the Deal Through series by Law Business Research (published: March 2020).

Authors: Gibson Dunn & Crutcher LLP—Daniel Barnett; Doug Watson; Patrick Doris

1. Outline and explain the general structure of your country’s court system as it relates to the commercial appellate process.

In England and Wales, the High Court of Justice serves as the court of first instance for complex civil disputes and for most cases in which the value of the claim exceeds £100,000. The High Court is subdivided into three divisions:

  1. the Queen's Bench Division;

  2. the Chancery Division; and

  3. the Family Division.

The Queen's Bench Division has the most varied jurisdiction and is, therefore, also the largest division of the High Court. The Queen's Bench Division is further subdivided into specialist courts encompassing the:

  1. Commercial;

  2. Admiralty;

  3. Technology and Construction;

  4. Circuit Commercial; and

  5. Administrative courts.

The Chancery Division is also subdivided into specialist areas, which include the:

  1. Business List;

  2. Competition List;

  3. Insolvency and Companies List;

  4. Intellectual Property List, including the Patents Court and Intellectual Property Enterprise Court;

  5. Revenue List; and

  6. Property, Trusts and Probate List.

Both the Chancery Division and the Commercial Court maintain a Financial List so that cases of importance to financial markets can be assigned to specialist judges. The courts of the Chancery Division

Popular documents