Agri-environment schemes—the Uplands Entry Level Stewardship Scheme
Agri-environment schemes—the Uplands Entry Level Stewardship Scheme

The following Property guidance note provides comprehensive and up to date legal information covering:

  • Agri-environment schemes—the Uplands Entry Level Stewardship Scheme
  • Management options
  • Eligibility
  • Other requirements
  • The Cross Compliance Conditions
  • Scheme payments and penalties
  • Common Agricultural Policy (CAP) Reform 2014–2020

Brexit: The UK left the EU on 31 January 2020. This has implications for the schemes providing for agricultural subsidies in England and Wales, which will no longer be derived from EU Common Agricultural Policy. We will introduce content to address the new regimes once the legislation (including the Agriculture Bill) has been enacted.

The Uplands Entry Level Stewardship (UELS) Scheme is one element of the Environmental Stewardship scheme, managed by the Rural Payments Agency (RPA) (in succession to Natural England), as part of the Rural Development Programme for England (2007–2013).

The UELS Scheme is a strand of the Entry Level Stewardship (ELS) Scheme. It was introduced in July 2010, as a replacement for the Hill Farm Allowance, in order to encourage an increased level of environmental management of land in the following Severely Disadvantaged Areas, notwithstanding their poor climate, soil and terrain:

  1. Northumberland and the North Pennines

  2. the Lake District

  3. the Yorkshire Dales and Bowland

  4. the North York Moors

  5. the Peak District

  6. the South Pennines

  7. the Welsh Borders

  8. the South West Moors

Unlike its predecessor, the UELS Scheme does not exclude dairy farmers.

Under the UELS Scheme participants are encouraged to create and carry out their own individual practical environmental management programmes to promote:

  1. wildlife species and their habitats

  2. protection of natural resources such as soil and water

  3. improvement of land management and