Key stage definition

What does Key stage mean?

There are four stages of the national curriculum for pupils of school-age'>compulsory school age.

The Four key stages are: Key stage 1 for pupils aged approximately 5 to 7, Key stage 2 for pupils aged approximately aged 8 to 11, Key stage 3 for pupils aged approximately 12 to 14 and Key stage 4 for pupils aged approximately 15 to when pupils cease to be compulsory school age. See the Education Act 2002 s 82.

Discover our 19 Practice Notes on Key stage

Dive into our 3 Precedents related to Key stage

See the 4 Q&As about Key stage

Read the latest 27 News articles on Key stage

Key stage is referenced 1 in Halsbury's Laws of England

Speed up all aspects of your legal work with tools that help you to work faster and smarter. Win cases, close deals and grow your business–all whilst saving time and reducing risk.

  Case studies

"Because of the pure breadth and depth of black letter law research and practical guidance that LexisNexis provides, we don't have to rely on counsel as much as perhaps firms that don't use LexisNexis."


Access all documents on Key stage