16. European Convention for the Prevention of Torture.

The European Convention for the Prevention of Torture1 was established by member states of the Council of Europe2 to further develop the prohibition of torture contained in the European Convention on Human Rights, which provides that no one shall be subjected to torture or to inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment3. The Convention establishes a European Committee for the Prevention of Torture and Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment ('the Committee') whose role is to examine, by means of visits, the treatment of persons deprived of their liberty with a view to strengthening the protection of such persons from