874. Officers of arms and their appointment.

There are three ranks of officers of arms, namely: (1) Kings of Arms1; (2) Heralds2; and (3) Pursuivants3. The officers are often referred to indifferently as 'heralds'. There are three Kings of Arms, six Heralds and four Pursuivants. They are members of the royal household and are appointed by the Sovereign by letters patent under the Great Seal