875. Kings of Arms.

The English Kings of Arms are: (1) Garter; (2) Clarenceux; and (3) Norroy and Ulster1. The senior of these is the Garter King of Arms, the office of which was constituted at a chapter of the Order of the Garter held in 1415, at which he was declared to be an officer of the Order and sovereign within the office of arms over all other officers of arms of the kingdom of England.