510. Specialised agencies of the United Nations.

The specialised agencies of the United Nations are not part of the United Nations, being separate international organisations with their own legal personalities, but they nevertheless are bought into relationship with the United Nations1. The United Kingdom is a member of most of the specialised agencies. The specialised financial agencies of the United Nations to which the United Kingdom belongs are:


    (1)     the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development2;


    (2)     the International Development Association3;


    (3)     the International Finance Corporation4;


    (4)     the Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency5; and


    (5)     the International Monetary Fund6.

In addition the United Kingdom belongs to the following