474. Permanent Court of Arbitration.

474.     Permanent Court of Arbitration.

The Permanent Court of Arbitration (the 'PCA') was established in 1899 as a facility through which states parties to the Hague Conventions of 1899 and 1907 may establish ad hoc arbitral tribunals to hear particular cases1. The PCA, which is based in The Hague, consists of an Administrative Council that oversees its policies and budgets, a panel of independent potential arbitrators known as the Members of the Court, and a secretariat, known as the International Bureau, headed by a Secretary-General. The International Bureau functions as a registry for arbitral tribunals at the