11. The scope of immigration control.

Those who are not British citizens1 are generally subject to immigration control, and thus require leave to enter or remain in the United Kingdom2. Immigration control generally applies to British overseas territories citizens, British overseas citizens, British subjects, British protected persons, British nationals (overseas), Commonwealth citizens and aliens3.

Persons who in the Immigration Act 1971 are expressed to have the right of abode in the United Kingdom, namely British citizens and a limited group of Commonwealth citizens, are not subject to immigration control