1. The Home Office and the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office.

Issues relating to immigration generally fall within the remit of the Secretary of State for the Home Department1, whose department is commonly known as the Home Office2. Three divisions within the Home Office, each accountable directly to ministers, have responsibility for immigration matters: UK Visas and Immigration3, which makes decisions on applications for permission to enter or remain, sponsorship licences and some overseas applications for British citizenship4; Immigration Enforcement5, which deals with compliance with immigration law