40. Common travel area.

The United Kingdom1, the Channel Islands, the Isle of Man and the Irish Republic collectively form the 'common travel area'2. Persons who have been examined for the purpose of immigration control at the point at which they entered the area do not normally require leave to enter any other part of it3 and neither arrival in nor departure from the United Kingdom on a local journey4 within the common travel area is subject to control under the immigration legislation5. Immigration officers are instructed to refuse leave to enter to a passenger arriving in the United Kingdom who intends to