| Commentary

158 Wild birds

| Commentary

158 Wild birds

For wild birds1 and their eggs and nests, the protection provisions are contained in the Wildlife and Countryside Act 1981 Sections 1–8. The species are broken down into 5 categories:

  1. 158.1

        those that have special protection2 at all times (Schedule 1 Part I species);

  2. 158.2

        those that have special protection during their close season (Schedule 1 Part II species);

  3. 158.3

        those that are subject to the standard level of protection (all those species which are not specifically referred to in one of the Schedules–which is the majority of species);

  4. 158.4


To continue reading
View the latest version of this document, as well as thousands of others like it, sign in to LexisLibrary or register for a free trial