Travel ban to UK extended to more countries amid coronavirus (COVID-19)

Travel ban to UK extended to more countries amid coronavirus (COVID-19)

The Department for Transport (DfT) has confirmed that from 29 January 2021 at 1 pm, individuals who have been in or transited through the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Burundi and Rwanda in the last ten days will not be granted access to the UK in a bid to curb the spread of a coronavirus (COVID-19) variant first identified in South Africa. This travel ban does extend to British and Irish Nationals, or third country nationals with residence rights in the UK, who will be able to enter the UK but are required to self-isolate for ten days on arrival along with their household—they cannot be released from self-isolation through Test to Release. The DfT emphasised that any exemptions usually in place will not apply, including for business travel.

The Welsh Government also declared that Burundi, Rwanda and the UAE will be added to the list of countries subject to enhanced isolation requirements. All travellers arriving into Wales who have been in the aforementioned countries in the previous ten days will be required to isolate, along with their household, for ten days and will only be able to leave isolation in ‘very limited circumstances’. These enhanced isolation requirements will also apply to persons already in Wales who have been in these countries in the last ten days and members of their households.


• Travel bans extended as United Arab Emirates, Burundi and Rwanda added to red list to prevent spread of new variant

• Coronavirus (COVID-19): restrictions on travel and transport to England

• Written Statement: Amendments to the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (Wales) Regulations 2020

Related Articles:
Latest Articles: